What's new

installing a Greddy warning meter

Yakozan

Sweedish Chef
🔥 Contributing Member 🔥
Joined
14 November 2005
Messages
3,447
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
39
Location
Stockholm, Sweden
Website
www.s15oc.com
Country
Hello.

Have anyone installed a warning meter?
The instructions are in Japanese and all I can get from the greddy homepage is this pdf.
http://www.greddy.com/tech/GAUGEWIRING.pdf

I have a pretty good idea where to connect all the wires except the yellow one which says "(opt.) Negative warning output"

Can I leave this out of the installation or will I loose the warning function then?
 

Yakozan

Sweedish Chef
🔥 Contributing Member 🔥
Joined
14 November 2005
Messages
3,447
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
39
Location
Stockholm, Sweden
Website
www.s15oc.com
Country
Sorted.
If you wan't an external warning light, you use the yellow cable.
Not really necessary :thumbs:
 

Topper

Flying Scotsman
Joined
14 November 2005
Messages
4,312
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
Scotland
Website
www.s15oc.com
Country
Hey Yakko,

Just wondering what size of guage you got to fit in the vent??

Any pix yet??

Topp :wave:
 

Yakozan

Sweedish Chef
🔥 Contributing Member 🔥
Joined
14 November 2005
Messages
3,447
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
39
Location
Stockholm, Sweden
Website
www.s15oc.com
Country
I haven't been to my garage for a while.
It's a 60mm gauge. But I think it's bigger on the outside.

I will go to the garage this weekend. I will try to remember to measure the outer diameter of the gauge. :thumbs:
The only pics I've got is here. http://forum.s15oc.com/viewtopic.php?t=15&start=30
 

Topper

Flying Scotsman
Joined
14 November 2005
Messages
4,312
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
Scotland
Website
www.s15oc.com
Country
Ah, very nice, does the silver surround around the vents not fit back over the guage or is it not needed?? Looks fine from the pix.
 

Yakozan

Sweedish Chef
🔥 Contributing Member 🔥
Joined
14 November 2005
Messages
3,447
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
39
Location
Stockholm, Sweden
Website
www.s15oc.com
Country
Topper said:
Ah, very nice, does the silver surround around the vents not fit back over the guage or is it not needed?? Looks fine from the pix.
The silver surround is mounted inside the vent. So that wont fit. Been thinking about cutting the silver ring out and glue it onto the vent holder. The blingest thing would be to get chrome aluminium rings. I think the late S15s had chromed rings as an option :)
 

Topper

Flying Scotsman
Joined
14 November 2005
Messages
4,312
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
Scotland
Website
www.s15oc.com
Country
So does it look like your missing something with having no surround??

From the pix i would say no, looks fine
 
M

Meddy

Guest
Well I fitted my Greddy Boost guage yesterday and have to say, its a pretty close match to stock, but the back lighting is definately more red than the dash lights. As they are not lined up its not too obvious though. After fitting Ive discovered the result of my low power figures on the rollers was down to the fact Im only seeing about 0.9 bar of boost rather than 1.0 bar. I think I need to re-learn my controller on a flat road this time. :nod: I'll post a pick tonight.
 

Yakozan

Sweedish Chef
🔥 Contributing Member 🔥
Joined
14 November 2005
Messages
3,447
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
39
Location
Stockholm, Sweden
Website
www.s15oc.com
Country
Topper said:
So does it look like your missing something with having no surround??

From the pix i would say no, looks fine
It looks pretty good. But I want perfection :)
Will try to get hold of a set of those chromed ringed vents and cut one of the old ones up (if they chromed ones are'nt to expensive)

Meddy said:
Well I fitted my Greddy Boost guage yesterday and have to say, its a pretty close match to stock, but the back lighting is definately more red than the dash lights. As they are not lined up its not too obvious though. After fitting Ive discovered the result of my low power figures on the rollers was down to the fact Im only seeing about 0.9 bar of boost rather than 1.0 bar. I think I need to re-learn my controller on a flat road this time. :nod: I'll post a pick tonight.
Great :thumbs:
I've felt to lazy to connect my gauge :ghey:
Waiting for the Oil pressure gauge too, which was shipped today :)
Please do take some pics of the lighting, as I'm curious of how it compares to the stock lighting.
 
M

Meddy

Guest
Yakozan said:
Please do take some pics of the lighting, as I'm curious of how it compares to the stock lighting.
Will do, not sure my pics will be up to your quality though. :p
 

Yakozan

Sweedish Chef
🔥 Contributing Member 🔥
Joined
14 November 2005
Messages
3,447
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
39
Location
Stockholm, Sweden
Website
www.s15oc.com
Country
Meddy said:
Yakozan said:
Please do take some pics of the lighting, as I'm curious of how it compares to the stock lighting.
Will do, not sure my pics will be up to your quality though. :p
It's hard gettin pics matching my quality with the pro setup I'm using :D
I may get a new cameraphone from work. So it should be a little better later on :)
 
M

Meddy

Guest
Well here you go mate but unfortunately at night its bloody hard to photograph guages, so they are up to your standard :( . It looks a closer match for the colour of the illumination than it actually is. The cluster is definately a yellow colour where as the guage is more red in colour, as close as your likely to get though and unlit they are spot on.



 

Yakozan

Sweedish Chef
🔥 Contributing Member 🔥
Joined
14 November 2005
Messages
3,447
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
39
Location
Stockholm, Sweden
Website
www.s15oc.com
Country
Looking good :thumbs:
Will try to sort my gauges out after christmas.
Then I can show you how it looks like in the vent position. I can't guarantee that the pics will be up to standard as Santa Claus may be comming around this weekend :)
 

Yakozan

Sweedish Chef
🔥 Contributing Member 🔥
Joined
14 November 2005
Messages
3,447
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
39
Location
Stockholm, Sweden
Website
www.s15oc.com
Country
Topper said:
Have you not asked him for a new camera :p
I haven't really asked for anything. I already got a S15 so I'm happy :D
My dad already got a digicam. But I don't want to borrow that. If he would break it later. He would surely blame me.
That's what he did with his old digicam which I didn't touch... Ever..

So I don't like to borrow things from him as I can get alot of sh*t for it later if he breaks it :rolleyes:
 
Top