What's new

HKS EVC-S okay? something else better?

U

udi

Looking to get an electronic boost controller, and not sure what to go for.

I like the clean modern look of the EVC-S, does anyone have any experience with them - do they function okay / any problems?

I'm also wondering, is there any benefit to the higher $$ units (AVC-R, EVC-VI, etc) that let you map boost to rev ranges... or can the same effects be achieved with a tune later?

Also, with those controllers that map to revs / gears / etc... do they have extra components to work out those variables?

Appreciate any advice, total noob to this as you can probably tell :)

Reaction score
hi,

i have the evc-s! its a very new unit but since ive had it its been great! i tried a couple of 2nd hand profec b spec 2's but niether worked so i thought i would buy a new one! it works in exactly the same way as the profec.... it seems to be the same unit just in a different case!

i havent had a remap yet but just fiddling about with it, its great! and it looks awesome too :)

im affraid i havent had any experience with the more expensive units but many members on here have so im sure youll get an answer to the other questions youve asked :thumbs:

Last edited:
U

udi

Appreciate your response!
I am leaning towards the EVC-S anyway because I can afford one brand new, which saves me messing around with second hand stuff.

If you don't mind me asking, how did you go about installing it? Is it a fairly simple process?
I'm wondering how to get the wiring into the cabin, where it comes out, where to connect the power wires to, etc etc.

LuPix_S15

Banned Toyota Lover
Reaction score
Website
www.lupix.co.uk
Country
I'm not into all the bling bling lol so EVC was way over budget for my needs :)

I found the Australian made Gizzmo MS-IBC an awesome alternative and cheaper than Profec B. In the UK it retails around 200 GBP - really easy to install. It's a simple unit but does the job like any other electronic boost controller ;)