What's new

How to fit mph converter

Joined
21 July 2009
Messages
333
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
United Kingdom
Country
Hey guys can anyone point me in the direction of a 'how to' in regards to the little black box converters please?

I searched on here and on sxoc and only info i could find was that it fits behind the instrument cluster.

I read that you take a earth and power from the centre plug and that the signal wire could be yellow and blue and thats on the left plug but this was on sxoc and was for an older 200sx.

I'd rather find out for sure from people who have an s15.

i also found this thread which has wiring diagrams but i have no idea if these are relavent to the s15

http://www.sxoc.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=266324&highlight=mph+converter

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
 

craig8585

I'm so cool, I have my own fan thread :p
🔥 Contributing Member 🔥
Joined
16 November 2007
Messages
4,118
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
Lichfield, UK
Country
This is correct.. But you will probably get these problems with it.




 
Last edited:

meddler

It's not easy being a green text speak nazi
Staff member
Moderator
Joined
17 October 2007
Messages
3,089
Reaction score
0
Points
36
Location
Australia
Country
Added to the Useful Threads.
 
T

Toby

Guest
I'm going this atm.

However, I have 2 different instuction sheets

the 200sx as per the above

and one for a silvia 98+

Can someone confirm what plug from the 3 to choose from and what colour cable the speed sensor is?
 

craig8585

I'm so cool, I have my own fan thread :p
🔥 Contributing Member 🔥
Joined
16 November 2007
Messages
4,118
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
Lichfield, UK
Country
I can't remember what colour the speed sensor wire is but could you post up a pic of the silvia 98+ instruction sheet you have please mate. I'd like to see what the difference is.
 
T

Toby

Guest


Thats the other one i got with it.

This one makes more sence, as it says use the white plug on the side that the speedo is one, as opposed to the other that says use the middle plug.

I also can't find a yellow cable on the middle plug, where as on the left one I can see a blue one....

Anyone recently remeber which cable it is?
 
Last edited:

craig8585

I'm so cool, I have my own fan thread :p
🔥 Contributing Member 🔥
Joined
16 November 2007
Messages
4,118
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
Lichfield, UK
Country
Thanks for posting that up.

I'll take my cluster out tomorrow and have a look for you. The way I have done it works fine for the speedo and miles counter, but it messes up the speed signal into the ECU. I might try it the way you have posted to see if it makes any difference.
 
T

Toby

Guest
No Problem

- whats the down side to confusing the ECU side of things?

- can you tell me what cable you currently have it connected onto, and how you get on swapping it round, im still a bit confused as to wich cable i get the speed sensor from?!?1
 

craig8585

I'm so cool, I have my own fan thread :p
🔥 Contributing Member 🔥
Joined
16 November 2007
Messages
4,118
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
Lichfield, UK
Country
Yeah, I'll take some pics for you tomorrow. I'm not sure how it affects the ECU/ABS but I have a speed readout in my dash and it annoys me when its wrong! :)
 

craig8585

I'm so cool, I have my own fan thread :p
🔥 Contributing Member 🔥
Joined
16 November 2007
Messages
4,118
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
Lichfield, UK
Country
Totally forgot mate, sorry. Next chance I'll have is Friday.
 
T

Toby

Guest
Hey bddy, sorry to keep hassling, did you get a go at this? or do you recall the current wire you got the speed readout from?
 
T

Toby

Guest
There are the 3 plugs going into the back of the cluster



Pretty sure its the white one that has the cable from the speed sensor on it...



The work shop manual says its point 14



However, there is no actual cable going into pin 14, its blank - :-/ Any ideas?

 

craig8585

I'm so cool, I have my own fan thread :p
🔥 Contributing Member 🔥
Joined
16 November 2007
Messages
4,118
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
Lichfield, UK
Country
Hey bddy, sorry to keep hassling, did you get a go at this? or do you recall the current wire you got the speed readout from?
Sorry mate, I forgot to check this for you. Will try and remember to do it this weekend.
 

Torque GT

🔥 Contributing Trader 🔥
Joined
30 December 2006
Messages
42
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Light Green wire : Pin 5 (N/C/S) : 20 Way White plug

HTH

Mike
 
T

Toby

Guest
Mike thats excellent, I'll have a look when I get Home!

thanks muchly!
 
Joined
7 June 2008
Messages
652
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
hampshire uk
where can i get one that convertes abs signal?
i got a dakota converter coming from the states but not sure if it will work
 
Top