What's new

Car Audio buying

Joined
14 January 2016
Messages
36
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
england
Country
Hi all,Could someone recommend any shops(online as well) for buying car stereo and speakers please?
Thanks a lot
Peter
 
Joined
8 November 2009
Messages
4,630
Reaction score
36
Points
48
Location
herts,uk
Country
Instagram
@Peglio13
Car audio security always seem to have good choice and prices especially on bsnk holidays


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
 
Joined
21 July 2008
Messages
527
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
Essex/London
I always used to use car audio direct, not sure how competitive they are on prices these days, but always had good service.
 

Lil SpecR

Joined
2 October 2015
Messages
401
Reaction score
0
Points
18
Location
STOKE-ON-TRENT
Website
www.ejmcarphotography.co.uk
Country
Instagram
@lil_ej_x
good post, ive tried car audio direct and prices seem competitive on headunits, i have in the past used car audio centre, but that was because they had a branch near me and the guys were great helping me find an underseat subwoofer that would actually fit under the seat in my old FTO lol, very patient! :)
I will try this car audio security too as i am finding it damn near impossible to find a bluetooth headunit with a rear USB! A few years ago you struggled to find front USBs, now I want a rear one its the other way around haha :)
 
Joined
14 January 2016
Messages
36
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
england
Country
I think I will give Car audio security centre a try:thumbs: Thanks for the advice guys!
Peter
 

Cess

Staff member
Moderator
Instagram Staff
Joined
10 February 2013
Messages
375
Reaction score
4
Points
18
Location
Northern Ireland
Country
Folks, anyone ever find a proper ISO wiring harness for the S15?

Also, any experiences with a pure android head unit, versus one that mirrors?
 

Lil SpecR

Joined
2 October 2015
Messages
401
Reaction score
0
Points
18
Location
STOKE-ON-TRENT
Website
www.ejmcarphotography.co.uk
Country
Instagram
@lil_ej_x
Folks, anyone ever find a proper ISO wiring harness for the S15?

Also, any experiences with a pure android head unit, versus one that mirrors?
Not searched for ISO WH's as mine came with a (Japanese) aftermarket stereo so I am (naively?) hoping it will connect to a UK aftermarket stereo lol :)
As for Android, not sure if its an actual android unit or uses mirroring (Im not very tech savvy) but I use a Sony docking system in my daily, a double din thing that mounts the phone and uses the screen as its interface.
I find it mint, perfect for my loooong commute as I can run various map apps to try and avoid the daily delays on the M6 lol, as well as run my music, control my dash cam etc all whilst charging using the magnetic charger :)

 

Keifer1903

Instagram Staff
Joined
1 December 2015
Messages
262
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
Scotland
Country
A micra one apparently fits mate. I got one from my importer to fit a stero. Can sell you it if u wanted mate?


Nissan Silvia Spec R Aero S15
 

Cess

Staff member
Moderator
Instagram Staff
Joined
10 February 2013
Messages
375
Reaction score
4
Points
18
Location
Northern Ireland
Country
The one I have in mine at the minute I think is from a Micra, but it definitely wasn't plug and play for me. I bought it from Halfords. I had to match wires using a guide, but I've never managed to get radio reception to work properly.
 

Keifer1903

Instagram Staff
Joined
1 December 2015
Messages
262
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
Scotland
Country
Yeah I can't get radio. Think it's because s15 don't have external Aerial like most cars. Mine come with dab receivers on the windscreen but still can't find much


Nissan Silvia Spec R Aero S15
 
Joined
19 May 2015
Messages
109
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
London
Country
Not searched for ISO WH's as mine came with a (Japanese) aftermarket stereo so I am (naively?) hoping it will connect to a UK aftermarket stereo lol :)
As for Android, not sure if its an actual android unit or uses mirroring (Im not very tech savvy) but I use a Sony docking system in my daily, a double din thing that mounts the phone and uses the screen as its interface.
I find it mint, perfect for my loooong commute as I can run various map apps to try and avoid the daily delays on the M6 lol, as well as run my music, control my dash cam etc all whilst charging using the magnetic charger :)

How do you find the audio quality on the Sony docking station double din?

Sent from my SM-G531F using Tapatalk
 

Lil SpecR

Joined
2 October 2015
Messages
401
Reaction score
0
Points
18
Location
STOKE-ON-TRENT
Website
www.ejmcarphotography.co.uk
Country
Instagram
@lil_ej_x
How do you find the audio quality on the Sony docking station double din?

Sent from my SM-G531F using Tapatalk
Brilliant, for a headunit using standard speakers I get excellent bass and clarity, I can't fault it really, if I was going for a double din system in the 15 I'd have another one :)

Sent from my D6603 using Tapatalk
 
Joined
19 May 2015
Messages
109
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
London
Country
Im half considering trying one of the Android 5.1 units off of Amazon, either a joying or a pumpkin :( or similar. Can't bring myself to pay 600+ on a brand name radio you will probably never even hear over the exhaust :)

Sent from my SM-G531F using Tapatalk
 

Lil SpecR

Joined
2 October 2015
Messages
401
Reaction score
0
Points
18
Location
STOKE-ON-TRENT
Website
www.ejmcarphotography.co.uk
Country
Instagram
@lil_ej_x
Im half considering trying one of the Android 5.1 units off of Amazon, either a joying or a pumpkin :( or similar. Can't bring myself to pay 600+ on a brand name radio you will probably never even hear over the exhaust :)

Sent from my SM-G531F using Tapatalk
If Nissan had obd2 connections I would have done the same without a doubt so I could run Torque Pro instead of dials :)

Sent from my D6603 using Tapatalk
 

als_jordan

Staff member
Moderator
Joined
13 July 2007
Messages
463
Reaction score
0
Points
16
Found my original post from a while back!

Fitted my stereo tonight, so FINALLY no more Terry Wogan driving me crazy!!:rant:

Got a Wiring harness PC2-76-4 for Halfords (they had to order it in) took two days... Straight fit - simple!! :)

Wierd thing with my original wiring loom in the car was that there was no ground wire on the harness. I ended up cutting the Halfords ground wire and wiring the ISO straight to the mounting bracket of the dash.. Not a big deal, but just posting this up in case anyone else has the same issue as i did..

Als
 
Top